Valentine’s Day Message

Remarks by David Petroni at the February 14th, 2013 Springboro School Board meeting …

This month is already half gone.  Tonight is Valentines Day – I move to adjourn…ok, just kidding, I would still like a few minutes. 

But before I go on, I would like to ask for a moment of silence for Lee Vincent and Troy Holtry who both recently lost their fathers……….our prayers are with them and their families. 

 It was a good day today because when I entered my home after a long week; my 4 children and my wife Kim greeted me with such enthusiasm it warmed my heart as a father and a husband.  Behind each hug was a caring message of love, joy, and respect. 

 My 2-year old is starting to talk.  He so gently pulled on my pant leg, and motioned me to follow him…then softly says ‘sit’, papa sit…. What a great valentine day.  I hope your day was also lovingly fulfilled.

 Before our annual board organizational meeting held in January, I sent a personal note of thanks to our central office team. It seemed appropriate today to share some of my thoughts about the people in central office I have had an opportunity to interact with as a board member since August 2012.

 Lee Vincent – what a professional.  I have come to know Mrs. Vincent.  The more I interact with her, the more I admire and applaud her dedication, passion, and commitment. That commitment is not just for our students.   She is always here for our teachers too – You got to respect the direct honesty she delivers – not to mention she has got a heck of sense of humor….

 Jeff Madden stepped into a big role this year.  It took guts to take this position…one, he had no experience.  Heck, it took guts for this board, ok, I speak for me, to step out and hire you.  But we all took a chance by accepting Mr. Petrey’s recommendation.  He said you were the right guy for this job.  So far…he is right.  I know you have been working hard Jeff, so thanks…. of course, we will see how your budget ends up on June 30…

 Tracy Jarvis came to town and shook up the budget process.  Her role here started before my time, so that was not my fault.  Since I have been on this board, Mrs. Jarvis has been able to manage the finances and been here for the community. She could have maintained status quo, but instead, she stepped up, so thanks for taking that risk.

 Tammy Stritenberger, I see why you were able to excel as a NCAA coach.   Such competitive drive and dedication, which yield results, achieved through a management style you only find on the court.  You stepped into a big role and with this position; you agreed to take on great responsibility.  Thanks.

 Superintendent Petrey.  When I first interviewed Mr. Petrey, I asked him about education trends in Florida. …He had some sort of answer that was close to my target.  It just proved he was paying attention to things outside of his environment, which was important when picking a leader for this district. 

 He then delivered a message that exemplifies his passion and drive for student achievement.  The 2 discussions sold me.  The students and this entire community should be as appreciative as I am for all your hard, often, emotionally draining, work you are doing for kids and community.  Thanks.

 On August 1, 2012, this district hired a great team, and it was a very good day for education in Springboro; it was a very good day for our city; and it was a very good day for our employees.   Your hard work executing the policies of this board is starting to shine.  No matter what, remember our mission – it is about educating children and preparing them for their futures. 

So in January, I shared with central office my entire agenda for 2013.  My agenda is focused on student achievement and curriculum….  It’s just that simple.  So everyone playing politics these days and in the days to come…. remember whose lives you are really impacting.

 In the end, this board has worked pretty hard to make a difference.  Most of our votes have been unanimous.  For the most part, this board did good work in 2012.  It was a good year for education, and educators in Springboro.

 Let me close with a quote from Henry Ford,

“Coming together is a beginning; keeping together is progress; working together is success.”

 Thanks for listening.

David Petroni

Leave a Reply

